Voting Underway as Hall Ballot Expands to NPSL-CISL Era

The Indoor Soccer Hall of Fame, established in 2011, has announced that voting is underway for a fourth class of enshrinees. This year the Hall will induct as many as 10 players, coaches, and administrators, and the list will be announced in 2019.

The Hall's voting committee selected 12 inductees in 2011, and six each in 2013 and 2014. The 24 honorees who currently reside in the Hall of Fame include 18 players, four coaches, and two administrators.

For the first time, voters are allowed to consider accomplishments beyond the MISL/NASL indoor era, which ended in 1992. The initial ballots included anyone who played at least six seasons in the original MISL and indoors in the NASL, but now the ballot has been expanded to include any player who has played at least 10 seasons or 300 games in any league, provided that their career began before 2001, and they have been retired for at least five seasons. In the case of goalkeepers the minimum standard is 100 career wins.

Notable names appearing on the ballot for the first time include goalkeepers Jamie Swanner and Peter Pappas, high scorers Joe Reiniger, David Doyle, Goran Hunjak, and Franklin McIntosh, and decorated defenders Sean Bowers, Matt Knowles, and Pat Morris. Holdovers whose credentials were burnished by their post-MISL accomplishments include Pato Margetic, Otto Orf, Andy Chapman, Cris Vaccaro, Daryl Doran, Michael King, Gino DiFlorio, and the Dynamic Duo of Zoran Karic and Hector Marinaro, as well as coaches Keith Tozer and Timo Liekoski. Prominent MISL players still on the ballot include Chico Borja, Jan Goossens, Thompson Usiyan, Alan Mayer, Krys Sobieski, and Scott Manning.

"With this additional candidates, voters are going to have to dig down and make some tough decisions," said Hall of Fame Director Sydney Nusinov. "This is the most talented ballot since the original one in 2011."

Thanks to the website voters will be able to see the complete indoor statistics for each player, while historian Kenn Tomasch has compiled and provided the Hall of Fame with a complete coaching register.

The voting committee which includes over 20 former players, coaches, administrators, media and historians, will be allowed to select up to 20 total candidates, but no more than three coaches or two administrators. The 20 living Hall of Famers are also eligible to vote.

Construction is ongoing at a newly relaunched, where fans can see a list of the current Hall enshrinees as well as a growing historical database featuring a list of all-time champions and award winners dating back to 1978-79, the de facto beginning of the modern indoor era.